The Hanseatic Museum is moving due to restoration

The Hanseatic Museum building Finnegården 1A is on the move to Schøtstuene, which will serve as a venue for new exhibitions in 2019. Here, the museum will continue to share the Hanseatic history, as well as the exciting restoration process.


Why is the museum being restored?
The museum's main building, Finnegården, was built in 1704 and has been a museum since 1872. It is on UNESCO's world heritage list, and after nearly 150 years, extensive restoration will be underway from October 1st 2018 until spring 2024.
Due to major injuries, the wooden foundation must be replaced and the historic building must be raised to prevent future damage.This is a lengthy process, as the restoration work and the result will reflect the time period it was created. The new building will be a true copy of today's facade. The restoration project has a budget of NOK 337.9 million.
Where can you visit The Hanseatic Museum during the restoration?
As the Hanseatic Museum in Finnegården can not be visited during the restoration process, we have moved our offer to Schøtstuene (Øvregaten 50). These were the assembly halls of the Hanseatics at Bryggen, and have been part of the Hanseatic Museum since 1938. Schøtstuene consists of four living rooms and two cook houses.
In the new exhibitions at Schøtstuene, the audience will gain new insights into the Hanseatic's life and history at Bryggen, as well as an opportunity to follow the restoration process. A unique medieval ruin, sheltered under Schøtstuene, has been made available to the public through its own exhibition through a glass floor. There is also a temporary ticket office and introductory exhibition at Bryggen, where the museum shop has already opened.
What will the “new” Finnegården be like after the restoration?
The museum will offer new facilities better adapted to wheelchair users.The purpose is to give all our visitors the opportunity to experience one of Bryggens oldest and best preserved houses with original interior from the Hanseatic era. The museum building will have a new reception and shop on the first floor. On the second and third floor, the Hanseatic's life and history will continue to be communicated through new Exhibitions.